Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Best choice for studying Japanese? 2007/9/24 17:45
I've loved anime since early elementary school and my fascination with the culture and society of Japan has done nothing but grown since then, and I have for many years now planned to study Japanese once I finished school.

I graduated from High School a few months ago and have started my gap year. I have not yet applied to any universities as I am unsure where I want to study.
There are several possibilities that I know of, and perhaps more which I don't:
-First choice is the local University: I'm from Belgium and there is only one good university which offers a Japanese language course. The teachers are meant to be highly qualified and well regarded, however, contrary to British universities it does not offer a year in Japan. I would be happy to take this course but I would dearly love to stay in Japan for an extented period and I think it would greatly help in learning the language and customs.
-Second choice is the only British University that I should not have trouble getting into considering my average grades, the University of Central Lancashire. This university however does not seem to be that well regarded, although I have no idea of the quality of their Japanese language course, but contrary to the Belgian university they do offer a year exchange in Japan.
-Third option, is studying Japanese in Japan. I admit to knowing very little on this. I read about certain schools offering courses for foreigners but what of universities? Which instituations would make the best choice? And how costly is the option likely to prove?

I hope I can receive some advice, insight and help into deciding my future.

Thank-you
by japanlovingboy  

Japanese University 2007/9/24 22:07