Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

6 days in Hokkaido - Need advice 2007/11/10 21:42
I am from Singapore and am now planning for 6 day holiday in Hokkaido arriving in Hakodate by JR Rail from Tokyo. I am travelling as a family of 4 and will be in Hokkaido from Dec 8 to Dec 14 2007. I am planning to buy a 14 day JR Rail Pass which will include on onward 7 day stay in Tokyo.

I would appreciate any advice on the following:

1. Which cities in Hokkaido should I stay that would make the best use of my 6 days?
2. Is it advisable to drive in Hokkaido during this December period?
3. Is the JR Rail network comprehensive and convenient enough to enjoy Hokkaido?
4. I am an avid photographer and taking travel photos is my priority. What are the places and sights that I should not miss?

Thanks in advance for your replies and assistance.
by Yong  

Quick question 2007/11/13 10:40
What kind of photos are you looking to take: towns? People? Landscape? Birds and wildlife?

Knowing this will make advice more specific.

Anyway, 6 days is comfortable for a loop of Sthn Hokkaido, going N as far as Sapporo and Otaru. I will be interested in seeing if anyone cares to suggest you go to Furano or Biei.

Or, if particular wildlife or landscape interest you, you could do the long train transit to Kushiro and back (abt 8 hrs from Hakodate, changing at Sapporo) and focus on that area.

But in general you should find enoug to explore in that southern sector, which after all has volcanoes, coastline, cities, some historic buildings and two crater lakes.
by Ian rate this post as useful

,,, and ..! 2007/11/13 10:42
.. and Ainu life, and hot springs.

And (except for the lakes) you can do it all by train.

Hokkaido in 6 Days 2007/11/13 21:03
Thanks for your replies.

I am more inclined towards wildlife and landscape photography.