Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Stay with japanese ppl, martial arts? 2008/1/27 01:29
Hey,

Im planning on coming a short trip to Japan, like a month. Want to learn the language better, and just have fun. Ive been before and would like to stay in either Tokyo or Osaka.

I see all these gajin houses and flats available, Im looking for something like a hostel, but would really like to be around english speaking japanese too. To practice my japanese and just enjoy there company. Is there anything like this?

Also, I heard about budouniversity. Is there any oher martial arts based uni's? Want to do Judo, Karate and Aikido more. Im not a beginner either.

Is there hostels or houses where you could stay with japanese ppl for even shorter periods for holidays too?
Thanks
by Sen  

Japanese at guest houses and hostels 2008/1/27 08:50
Even though guest houses are often called "gaijin houses", it's kind of a misnomer because you will often find that many of the residents are Japanese. When I first came to Japan on a working holiday visa I lived in two different guest houses and both of them had Japanese residents- at the second one about half the residents were Japanese for some reason. A few of the Japanese people I met at that time are still good friends.

Try calling/ emailing the individual guest houses and ask if they have any Japanese residents.

Youth hostels are also often full of Japanese university students.
by Sira rate this post as useful

Thanks 2008/1/27 09:15
Thanks for the help. Ill do that.
How about homes or flats that are shared between 5+ ppl, my days in uni were like that here. we'd have +5 of us in a house, any rentals like that in tokyo?

Also, whats a good site for japanese penpals, would like to make some friends before i go there.