Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

desserts, entres Japanese will enjoy 2008/4/4 10:07
I'm a high school student and will be going on a foreign exchange trip to Japan. I want to cook for my host family but I don't want to disgust them. What desserts or foods for any and all meals could I cook that may or may not be of western descent with ingredients I can bring or find?
by Jake Tussing  

. 2008/4/4 14:02
Cooking for a host family wiill be great.
Most western dishes are popular in Japan, so you do not have to worry too much.

What do you have in mind to cook for them? Or indredients you'll need? If you can tell us, then it is easier to tell you if they are easy to find or something you have to bring from your home country.
by . rate this post as useful

... 2008/4/4 14:11
Be aware that many homes do not have ovens. For desserts, it baking is done it is usually cooked in small portions in the microwave (with special bake settings) or in a toaster oven. For dinner, this means that you can't easily roast things.
by yllwsmrf rate this post as useful

stuff I've made 2008/4/4 14:47
one thing I've done for Japanese friends is "American Style" brunch, with french toast, fruit salad, eggs, sausage, etc. because in Japan there are very few places that serve western breakfast, and things like french toast and pancakes are almost always served as dessert, not breakfast.

But as far as entrees, most things are okay.

Dessert wise, peanut butter, chocolate mint, and licorice don't seem to go over well. I have made no-bake cheesecake which turns out good, and it is something you don't see as much of here.
by Kate rate this post as useful

about ovens 2008/4/5 02:08