Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Australian Maestro card at 7-11 2008/4/10 16:52
Most of the posts I found were about US ATM cards, so am hoping that someone can confirm that I will be able to withdraw money from ATMs in 7-11s and post offices with my Australian ATM card - it is a commonwealth bank card with the Maestro logo on it.

I've never used it overseas before - I plan to inform the bank that I will be os, but do I need to do anything else i.e. will the card take the same pin as normal and just access my Aust. funds converting them to Yen?

I will take cash with me, but as I am going for 6 weeks I don't want to have 6 weeks worth on me at one time - will the exchange rate be ok doing this or am I better off with travellers cheques (which I found previously to be a huge hassle and drama).

Thanks so much for your help
Aleph
by Aleph  

Yes! 2008/4/11 10:25
I travelled in November 2007 with my commonwealth card (savings not credit) and found it really easy to use the 7-11 atms. The only one that rejected my card was in Takashita dori, Harajuku, but they had two so it was all good : )

have an awesome trip.

Just remember, take cash for rural areas but major cities there are plenty of 7-11s in the cities.
by R. rate this post as useful

Getting money in Tokyo 2008/4/11 17:56
I've lived in Tokyo for the past 7 years, and I still have trouble using my Aussie credit card in some shops over here. In the city its usually Ok, but if you are planning to travel anywhere else get cashed up first. Its still basically a cashed based society over here, efpos is only just starting to be introduced. I've been told by mates that Maestro is usually Ok in the city, good luck!
by leigh-san rate this post as useful

cards at 7-11 2008/4/12 04:27