Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Is learning Japanese harder than German? 2008/7/9 08:33
Hi, I studied two years of German in high school and was just wondering if learning Japanese harder than German?
by Grimmjow45  

Learning Japanese 2008/7/9 09:08
Grimmjow45,

Despite what the Japanese will tell you, the Japanese language is simpler than most European languages. It is just the writing system that is more complex and difficult to learn.
by Dave in Saitama rate this post as useful

Thanks 2008/7/9 09:59
Thanks, Dave!
by Grimmjow45 rate this post as useful

I don't agree... 2008/7/9 20:56
I studied German (mother tongues are French and English), and felt almost fluent after a few years, as well in speaking than writting... Whereas for Japanese, I've been studying it for many years. It was my major in college, I lived in Japan for some time, and now work in a Japanese company in my country, and still, I feel that I'm not fluent... It comes from the fact that the grammar is completely different, and you have to think differently to speak in Japanese... The order of the sentence has nothing to do with what we are used to, and you have to "put your thoughts up side down" (that's how I feel). The other problem is the vocabulary. You have nothing to relate to when learning Japaneses. Wheras between German and English for example many words are similar, which helps to remember them. And that's whithout mentionnenig reading and writting!! But it's a wonderful language opening doors to a wonderful country. And it's worth the effort!!
by Kali rate this post as useful

lol 2008/7/28 20:54