Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Duration of Pasmo cards 2008/11/13 23:00
Hello,

I will be arriving in Tokyo on November 16th where I am staying for 4 nights, and I will be purchasing a PASMO card to move around the city.

MY question is, how long is a PASMO card actually valid for?

Do you have to buy one everyday, or can you buy one that lasts several days, therefore (hopefully) saving money on travelling around within Tokyo?

I am a keen photographer, and therefore I want something that I can use throughout the day - and especially the night, as night time photography is something I will concentrating on a lot during my stay.

Also, how long does the JR Rail and local subway network stay open until each night? As I don't to become stranded somewhere and end up paying through my nose for a taxi - as I have read that taxis are very expensive.

Any help would be appreciated.

Many thanks,

Dean
by Dean Francis  

... 2008/11/14 10:01

It only expires if you do not use it for ten years.

Also, how long does the JR Rail and local subway network stay open until each night?

Most trains stop by around 1am in the Tokyo area.
by Uji rate this post as useful

... 2008/11/14 10:10

Do you have to buy one everyday, or can you buy one that lasts several days, therefore (hopefully) saving money on travelling around within Tokyo?

PASMO is a thick plastic reloadable "prepaid" card, that you can load value onto to pay the fare for trains and subways without the need to buy individual tickets. This is mostly for saving the time and hassle of standing in front of the ticket vending machine each time you ride. But this does not give you any discount.