Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Single traveller first time to Japan 2009/2/20 17:14
Hi friends,
I am new to this website. I am a Chinese living in Sydney. This is my first time to Japan, and I will travel by myself and staying in hostels (buget traveller). I will travel from Sydney to HK(1wk) to Japan (2.5wks) to HK(2.5wks) back to Sydney.

1) 6/5 or 7/5 arrival to Japan?
I want to go to Japan from HK on either 6 or 7/5/09. I know that 6/5 is a public holiday (Golen wk). Should I avoid arrival in Japan on 6/5?

2) Arrive in Osaka or Fukuoka?
I will buy the 14 days JP pass. I would like visit Japan from south to north. From HK, I can arrive in Osaka or Fukuoka airport. Should I arrive in Osaka airport and spend few days in Kyoto and start use the JP pass from D5-D18? Then, I can travel south to Hiroshima few days, then to Nagoya, Takayama to Tokyo few days then to Sapporo few days.
Or should I arrive in Fukuoka airport, and spend few days in Fukuoka/Hiroshima?

3)Visit Hokkaido or not?
I heard that Hokkaido is a beautiful place to visit. I know that it will take 17 hrs (long hours) by night train from Tokyo to Sapporo. I wonder whether I should visit Hokaido this trip?

4) Attractions in Hokkaido
If I decide to spend 4 days in Hokkaido, what are the attractions/must visit places that you will suggest?

5) Towns to stay overnight