Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Working and living in Kyoto? 2009/2/24 16:56
I was wondering what the work situation in Kyoto is like these days and if anyone might have some advice for me.

I was hoping to move to Kyoto sometime between May-August with the intention of staying at least 1-2 years to study martial arts (near Kita-ku).

My hope is that I can work 20-30 hours a week, with some private lessons on the side. My hope being that I will be able to make a living wage, while training as much as possible at night and weekends.

However, between economic troubles and the fact that many Kyoto ESL jobs are not advertised, I'm feeling a little stuck.

I have traveled to Japan 7 times, but this is the first time I've considered going for work.

I have a degree in Art History with a minor in Japanese language, and I will become TESOL certified by the end of April.

Any advice?; ideas on school that I should target?; best way to approach them while overseas?; what my chances of securing employment before arrival?

Thank you for you time and consideration! Yours,

Philip
by Phil2Musashi  

first question of all.... 2009/2/24 17:18
...on what kind of visa are you going to stay in japan for 1-2 years?
you wrote that you are going to study martial arts.
is it a cultural visa?
or a student-visa?

because its very important, because with those visa you aren`t allowed to wok at all.
you can apply for a work permit, but then you can work just for a certain hours per week...
by dotcom (guest) rate this post as useful

... 2009/2/24 17:26