Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Two weeks in Japan - aggressive? 2009/3/20 05:50
Hi All -

This has been a very helpful forum and I am close to finalizing a trip to Japan in mid-May, hopefully after Golden Week travel has eased down.

It's my first time to Japan (travelled alot thru asia), but I wanted to try to be a bit off the beaten path, unfortunately its shaping up to be a lot of travel between destinations.

This is what I'm thinking:

Day 1-3: Arrive in Tokyo, basic sightseeing

Day 4-7: Hokkaido by car, Lake Akan and Shiretoku.

Day 8-12: Fukuoka/Kagoshima/Yakushima Island

Day 13: Depart from Tokyo

The days are a bit flexible and I totally realize that this is quite aggressive. But I'd love to hear from any experts if this is even remotely doable, and if not, which leg of the trip should be first to go. Or if there is a 2 week itinerary you can think of that is similar in spirit, I would love to hear any recs as well.

Many thanks in advance!
by testor  

... 2009/3/20 16:44
This is very aggressive, indeed, especially only two full days for Hokkaido. But it is possible if you arrange it well and travel at a very fast pace.

The following would be an efficient route:

Tokyo - (air) - Kushiro - (car) - Akan - (car) - Shiretoko - (car) - Memanbetsu - (air) - Tokyo - (air) - Fukuoka - (train) - Kagoshima - (ferry) - Yakushima - (air) - Kagoshima - (air) - Tokyo

For example:

day 1: arrive in Tokyo
day 2-3: Tokyo
day 4: fly from Tokyo to Kushiro, drive to Akan NP
day 5: see Akan NP, drive to Shiretoko
day 6: see Shiretoko
day 7: drive to Memanbetsu Airport, fly via Tokyo or Osaka to Fukuoka
day 8: see Fukuoka, take the train to Kagoshima
day 9: see Kagoshima, take the ferry to Yaksuhima
day 10: Yakushima
day 11: Yakushima
day 12: fly via Kagoshima to Tokyo
day 13: leave Tokyo