Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

can anyone help me with citizenship? 2009/5/20 15:56
Hi..Can anyone help me regarding my current situation? My dad is a japanese citizen and my mom is a filipina but both of them left me when i was like 3 years old. I grew up here in the Philippines with my grand parents. Anyways, i was born on 1987 and im 22 right now...and i want to have a japanese citizenship..im a registered nurse here in the philippines and a registered voter, too...
is there any way i can be a japanese citizen? and be able to go to japan and live there? i really want to meet my dad's relatives there. though
i dont know anything bout my dad and his relatives...also i don't know where is he now. but my mom is here in the country..somewhere...

im wishing you can help me..^^,
thanks in advance...

by shojisuke  

Born 2009/5/20 17:13
Were you born in Japan? If not in these circumstances no chance.
by .. (guest) rate this post as useful

As far as I know 2009/5/20 17:52
Japanese citizenship is determined by the nationality of the parents, not by where you were born.

So if you know your father is Japanese, and can somehow prove it on paper (any birth certificate with parents' names, or do you know if your father registered you on his "koseki" family register?), then you have a chance.

As a nurse there *may* be another way to come to Japan to work - there is a special program for Philippine qualified nurses to come on a special program to train and work for a year or something, solely for caring for the elderly. I'm not sure of the details, though.
by AK rate this post as useful

... 2009/5/20 18:07
Where you were born makes no difference. The determining factor is whether or not you are registered on your father's family register.