Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Living or Vacation? 2009/6/2 14:00
Hi, my name is Rin and I'm Canadian/Chinese. I'm currently in 10th grade right now and I want to go to Japan in a couple of years. Probably like, 3-4 years?

If I want to study and live there for a long period of time, is it possible? Like, I'm going there basically a year after graduating high school and won't have any degrees in Uni/College. I want to know about how to be able to pay for tuition, rent, transportation etc. I'm still an amateur in Japanese. I can read hirigana, katakana and understand basic Japanese, but having some trouble with Kanji.

Or is it a better idea to just go there for vacation for a short period of time (say less than 6 months). Can that make it easier for a newcomer in the country? I'm worried about transportation because I won't be able to go to any other places without knowing directions and I don't want to follow a tour guide since there's "curfew" or a specific time to go and to stop.

I also don't understand the thing about Visa. Is Visa really required in Japan?

Please help me out as much as possible. Thank You.
by Rin-san (guest)  

... 2009/6/2 15:44
If you are interested in studying the Japanese language (attending a full-time language school) in Japan, you can apply for and enrol in such a school in Japan. They have one-year or two-year courses that prepare you to the Japanese language proficiency level to be able to pursue studies in a university in Japan, if you are interested. Of course you (or your parents) will need to be able to pay all tuition, accommodation, living expenses, etc. for/during your study.