Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Kansai -> Himeji -> Hiroshima Help 2009/7/7 21:10
I'm currently an exchange student here and I'm planning a trip before I go home. I'm based in the Yokohama area.

Since I am an exchange student, I can't get JR Pass since my visa is not for tourism. Is there any type of discount I can get for being a student? Or other passes that don't need tourist visa?

Any way, I really only have between Aug 8 - Aug 14(want to be back in yokohama by then) for this trip, so I am going to do main travel by shinkansen as i can't sit in a bust for 9 hours.

So, right now my plan is to take an early shinkansen from shinyokohama to kyoto on the 8th. (do i have to make reservations? it's more expensive and i don't see why) Find and drop my bags off and spend the rest of the day looking at things.

I'm not quite sure how long I should stay in Kyoto, but I feel like two full days should be enough to see most things with out being rushed. So, then on Aug 11 I was going to do a half/most day trip to Nara then spend the rest of the night in Osaka and go back to Kyoto to sleep.

Aug 12 Go twoards hiroshima, and stop at Himeji on the way. Arrive in Hiroshima and spend what time I left.

Aug 13. Go to Miyajima, come back and do more hiroshima.

Aug 14. Go back to shinyokohama

Does this sound reasonable? Or am I packing in too much stuff? Also, when I travel, I want to bring a roller bag (one that fits on airplane overhead compartments). will i be able to find an empty locker at himeji to store it?

thanks for any help and suggestions.
by Steven (guest)  

. 2009/7/8 09:08
Suggest you try to stay a night at Miyajima. So much better when the tourists have gone home.
by Connie Chiwa (guest) rate this post as useful

... 2009/7/8 11:40