Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Any alternative to a hikifurisode? 2009/11/13 01:15
Hi there, I am half Japanese and have lived in England all my life. I am getting married in October next year in England and would love to wear a kimono at some stage during the reception. However, hikifurisode are expensive to rent. My question is whether there is anything I could wear instead that would not seem odd to the Japanese eye! Has anyone ever seen a bride in Japan wear a furisode, kuro tomesode, iro tomesode or houmongi to the reception of their OWN wedding? Is it just not done?

Thank you so much for your help!
by Sz (guest)  

furisode 2009/11/13 11:30
I'm no kimono expert, but I think kuro tomesode, iro tomesode or houmongi would look out of place for a bride to wear on her wedding day in Japan. But when we had our American wedding (we also had a Japanese Wedding) my wife wore a furisode, while her bridesmaids wore yukata. It ended up looking very nice.
by yllwsmrf rate this post as useful

. 2009/11/13 12:13
Sz,

The rental shop owners are the experts, so you should turn to them for advise. Personally, I don't think there are any rules on what to wear on your wedding, as long as it isn't too casual compared to the guests and as long as it doesn't imply unfortunate events or wrong seasons. But from a quick internet search, I found this article.
http://tsuru-nakamura.blog.so-net.ne.jp/2009-01-10

The writer says (s)he notices many pre-WW2 brides wearing tomesode in their wedding photos, but thinks that if it were today "you'd think 'Oh?'" I also trust that Yllwsmrf had a lovely summer wedding, but you're not suppose to wear yukata once September is over.
by Uco (guest) rate this post as useful

rental 2009/11/13 16:48