Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Being a teacher 2010/11/4 16:50
I'm Kalisto and i'm from Greece.I've been working in Japan since 3 years as employer in a pc company.
I don't have bachelor degree but i've studied business in a senmongakko in Tokyo and i have JLPT 1 .
My wife is japanese,and i've spuse visa,but i would like to become and english teacher in the future:i'm studing english and plan to take TOIEC next year and later TEFL.

I'd like to teach english in elementary school(or junior high if possible!).
I hope that you can give me some information like:
considering that i have JLPT 1,senmongakko certificate,spose visa and i plan to take again TOEIC and TEFL can i have a future as english teacher in japanese schools or not?
is that too hard because i'm not from an english speaking country and i don't have bachelor degree?
because the specialty of my senmongakkou was business,i cannot be a teacher?

thank you in advance guys!
by jose (guest)  

v 2010/11/6 22:13
Your English is very poor. Personally i would not be happy if you were teaching my children English.
by v (guest) rate this post as useful

... 2010/11/7 02:26
I think they prefer native English speakers, but I do know a German person who does work as an English Teacher in Japan so it's not impossible.

I would say that you need to improve your English skills first though, just so you have more chance.
by Ben. (guest) rate this post as useful

if i were you... 2010/11/7 05:45