Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

English teacher's hair color? 2013/1/30 04:08
This may sound like a silly question, but are there restrictions on English teacher's hair colors in Japan?

I ask because I am an English teacher here in Australia and they allowed me to dye my hair fire engine red. However, there is an opportunity for me to teach in Japan and I wonder if I will have to dye it back to a natural hair color.
by Kali (guest)  

Re: English teacher's hair color? 2013/1/30 10:31
It depends a lot on the environment where you will be teaching, but schools tend to be conservative and having red hair probably makes you less hire-able. Also, many schools have dress codes that don't allow anything too wild. They usually give foreign teachers a little more leeway but its probably the rare situation where the school would embrace fire engine red hair.
by yllwsmrf rate this post as useful

Re: English teacher's hair color? 2013/1/30 11:12
Thank you!

I have no problem dying my hair back to its natural color (dark brown). I was just curious.
by Kali (guest) rate this post as useful

Re: English teacher's hair color? 2013/1/30 13:19
As long as the color is natural looking you should be fine, fire engine red might be a bit extreme. ^^
by SSJ Jup81 rate this post as useful

Re: English teacher's hair color? 2013/2/1 02:33
having red hair (dyed, not natural) will make you unacceptable for 99% of all english schools

public schools and large generic eikaiwa in particular.

smaller schools may be more forgiving if you start with natural hair color and slowly lighten it over time.