Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Page 208 of 233: Posts 4141 - 4160 of 4652
prev
1 ... 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 ... 233
next

Re: Yokohama Navy Exchange was where? 2018/4/19 12:07
It will be hotter than usual this summer. When I was a high school student and a university student, I often went to the beach of Kamakura with my friends during summer vacation. The beach was crowded with many people. We were listening to cassette tape at loud volume. And I got drunk with beer. That is a good memory 38 years ago from now.

Kisine Ballack is currently a good park. But I know that there was an Army hospital and had treatment of many serious injured soldiers. And many soldiers died. War is always miserable.@
by Kaoru (guest) rate this post as useful

Re: Yokohama Navy Exchange was where? 2018/4/21 22:59
Wally san
I am sorry to hear about your frends passing. Kamakura was such a special place and we went there often. Sometimes just sitting on the seawall and looking at Sagami Bay and the shonan coast.
As I studied the maps of the proposed invasion, in 1945, which never happned, I realized that the one of the main landing beaches would be on the shonan coast and Kamakura . Preceded by a bombardment would have ment that all of what we know now would have been utterly destroyed if this had happned. History contains great ironys. So as I sat on the seawall in Kamakura I had to enision that landing and the carnage that would have proceeded it and the great loss of life. very sobering.

The deep snows have gone here in New Hampshire and we await spring that continues to avoid us. But as it ''warms up '' I am down to wearing only one pair of long johns. [ you needed to know that right ?]
by Peter (guest) rate this post as useful

Kamakura 2018/4/23 00:14
Kamakura was the home of our dear friend Robert Lang and his wife in the 1950s.